The Stormlight Archive: Words of Radiance

Words of Radiance is the second book in the epic fantasy series The Stormlight Archive by Brandon Sanderson. It follows the lives of several characters who are involved in a war against the mysterious and powerful Voidbringers, who threaten to destroy the world of Roshar. The book is divided into five parts, each with a number of chapters and interludes that focus on different perspectives and events. Here is a brief summary of each part:

Part One

words of radiance

Alight. This part introduces the main characters and their situations. Kaladin, a former slave who became the leader of a bridge crew, is now the personal guard of King Elhokar and his uncle Dalinar, who are trying to unite the Alethi highprinces against the Parshendi, the race that assassinated the previous king. Shallan, a young scholar and artist, is traveling with her mentor Jasnah to the Shattered Plains, where the war is taking place, to find a way to stop the Voidbringers. However, their ship is attacked by a group of assassins and Jasnah is presumed dead. Shallan decides to continue her journey alone, using her abilities as a Lightweaver to disguise herself and create illusions. Szeth, the Assassin in White who killed the previous king, is sent by his new master, King Taravangian of Kharbranth, to kill Dalinar.

Part Two

The stormlight archive: words of radiance

Winds’ Approach. This part shows the characters’ struggles and challenges as they approach their goals. Kaladin trains his bridge crew to become soldiers and tries to protect Dalinar from Szeth’s attacks, while also dealing with his distrust of the lighteyed nobility and his growing powers as a Windrunner. Shallan reaches the warcamps and meets Adolin, Dalinar’s son and her betrothed, as well as his brother Renarin, who has a mysterious spren named Glys. She also infiltrates a secret organization called the Ghostbloods, who are looking for information about Jasnah and the Voidbringers. Szeth fails to kill Dalinar and is captured by Kaladin, but escapes with the help of a Herald named Nale, who gives him a new mission: to kill all Radiants.

Read More

Part Three

Deadly. This part reveals more secrets and mysteries about the world and the characters. Kaladin learns more about his spren Syl and his bond with her, as well as his connection to the ancient order of Knights Radiant. He also confronts his past enemy, Brightlord Amaram, who betrayed him and stole his Shardblade. Shallan discovers more about her own past and her family’s involvement with the Ghostbloods. She also learns more about her spren Pattern and her abilities as a Lightweaver. She uses them to create a fake soulcaster, a device that can transform matter, and to enter the hidden city of Urithiru, where Jasnah was heading. Szeth continues his killing spree and encounters Lift, another Radiant who can manipulate food into Stormlight.

Part Four

The Approach. This part builds up the tension and conflict as the characters prepare for a final confrontation. Kaladin joins Dalinar’s army in a decisive battle against the Parshendi, who have adopted a new and dangerous form called stormform, which allows them to summon powerful storms called Everstorms. Shallan leads an expedition to find Urithiru, which turns out to be an ancient tower that was once the home of the Knights Radiant. She also reunites with Jasnah, who survived the attack on their ship and made her way to Urithiru using her abilities as an Elsecaller. Szeth arrives at the Shattered Plains and tries to kill Dalinar again, but is stopped by Kaladin.

Part Five

Winds Alight. This part concludes the book with a series of climactic events and revelations. Kaladin fights Szeth in an epic duel in the sky and defeats him by breaking his Honorblade, a weapon that grants him his powers. He then spares his life and gives him his own Shardblade, which turns out to be an Honorblade as well. Dalinar faces Eshonai, the leader of the Parshendi, who has been corrupted by stormform and wants to unleash the Everstorm on Roshar. He manages to stop her by bonding with the Stormfather, a powerful spren that controls the highstorms, and becoming a Bondsmith, another order of Knights Radiant. He also declares himself as the new king of Alethkar and invites all other nations to join him in fighting against the Voidbringers. Shallan reveals her true identity to Adolin and confesses that she killed her father with her Shardblade, which is actually Pattern in disguise. She also discovers that Renarin is also a Radiant of an unknown order. Jasnah reveals that she knows about Shallan’s involvement with the Ghostbloods and warns her about their leader, who is none other than her estranged brother, Hoid. The book ends with the arrival of the Everstorm, which heralds the return of the Voidbringers and the beginning of a new Desolation.

Read This Book On:


Words of Radiance is a complex and epic story that explores themes of good vs. evil, duty vs. desire, and redemption. It is a must-read for fans of epic fantasy.

Here are some of the things that make Words of Radiance special:

  • The characters continue to develop and grow. Kaladin becomes more confident and determined, Shallan becomes more courageous and self-aware, and Dalinar becomes more compassionate and wise.
  • The worldbuilding is even more intricate and detailed. Sanderson introduces new concepts and creatures, and he expands on the history and lore of Roshar.
  • The story is even more epic in scope. The stakes are higher, the battles are bigger, and the consequences are more dire.
  • The themes are even more complex and thought-provoking. Sanderson explores the nature of good and evil, the power of redemption, and the importance of hope.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *