The Stormlight Archive: The Way of Kings Summary

Table of Contents

The stormlight archive: the way of kings

The Stormlight Archive: The Way of Kings is the first book in a fantasy series by Brandon Sanderson. It is set on the world of Roshar, where powerful storms shape the landscape and the culture. The book follows the lives of several characters who are caught up in a war that may herald the return of an ancient evil. The main characters are:

  • Kaladin, a former soldier who becomes a slave and a bridge-runner for the army of Highprince Dalinar Kholin. He discovers that he has a rare ability to manipulate Stormlight, a form of magic that grants enhanced strength, speed, and healing.
The Stormlight Archive: The Way of Kings
  • Shallan Davar, a young noblewoman who seeks to become the ward of Jasnah Kholin, Dalinar’s niece and a renowned scholar. She plans to steal a priceless artifact from Jasnah in order to save her family from ruin, but she also learns from Jasnah about the secrets of the world and the history of the Knights Radiant, an order of warriors who wielded powerful weapons called Shardblades and armor called Shardplate.
The Stormlight Archive: The Way of Kings
  • Dalinar Kholin, the brother of the late king Gavilar and one of the most respected leaders in Alethkar. He is plagued by visions that urge him to unite the warring highprinces and follow the codes of honor that were once practiced by the Knights Radiant. He also struggles with his attraction to Navani, Gavilar’s widow and Jasnah’s mother.
  • Szeth-son-son-Vallano, a mysterious assassin who calls himself Truthless. He is bound by oath to obey whoever holds his Oathstone, a device that marks him as a slave. He is sent to kill several prominent figures, including Gavilar and several other kings, using his Shardblade and his ability to manipulate gravity.

The book explores themes such as honor, loyalty, faith, justice, and destiny. It also introduces a complex magic system based on gemstones that can store Stormlight and grant various abilities depending on their color and shape.


The book is divided into five parts, each with an interlude section that focuses on minor characters and different regions of Roshar. The book ends with a climactic battle at the Shattered Plains, where Kaladin saves Dalinar’s life and reveals his Stormlight powers, Shallan confronts Jasnah about her theft and learns that Jasnah has a Shardblade, Dalinar trades his Shardblade for the freedom of Kaladin and his men, and Szeth is given a new mission to kill Dalinar by his new master, Taravangian, the king of Kharbranth. The epilogue reveals that one of the Heralds, Taln, has returned to Roshar after thousands of years, claiming that he has failed to stop the next Desolation.

Read This On:

Read More Books Like This

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *