One by One by Ruth Ware

Table of Contents

Certainly! “One by One” by Ruth Ware is a contemporary psychological thriller set at a ski chalet in the French Alps near the town of St. Antoine le Lac. The story unfolds from the alternating perspectives of two women:

  1. Liz: A shy woman who accompanies the eight members of the tech company Snoop to the chalet. She doesn’t fully fit in with the group of rich socialites. Liz’s investment in the company gives her 2% of the voting shares, worth approximately £12 million in the event of a buyout.
  2. Erin: The host at Chalet Perce-Neige, where the Snoop team stays. Erin ensures guests have a perfect experience.

Main Characters

Certainly! In “Never Lie” by Freida McFadden, the main characters are:

  • Tricia Lawton: Tricia is the book’s protagonist and main character. Most of the story is told from her perspective. Her curiosity leads her to discover a hidden room filled with Dr. Adrienne Hale’s patient transcripts. Tricia’s voice sets the tone of the book, creating a sense of anxiety as she believes there is a third person in the house along with her and her husband, Ethan12.Ethan: Tricia’s husband, Ethan, harbors his own dark secret3.Dr. Adrienne Hale: The missing psychiatrist, Dr. Hale, emerges as a complex figure. Her mysterious disappearance and the transcripts of her therapy sessions play a central role in the plot32.Luke Strauss: Adrienne’s former boyfriend, who unintentionally becomes a witness to the truth3.

  • Plot

    Certainly! “Never Lie” by Freida McFadden is a psychological thriller that follows a newlywed couple, Tricia and Ethan, as they search for their dream home. Their quest leads them to a secluded manor with a dark past, where a renowned psychiatrist vanished mysteriously. The heart of the story lies in its intriguing plot, where deception and unexpected twists unfold. As Tricia and Ethan get stranded in the remote manor during a blizzard, they discover secrets about the missing psychiatrist, Dr. Adrienne Hale, and their own murderous pasts123. Feel free to ask if you’d like more details or have any other requests!


    “Never Lie” by Freida McFadden is set in a secluded upstate New York house during a blizzard. The house, once belonging to renowned psychiatrist Dr. Adrienne Hale, becomes the backdrop for a suspenseful tale of secrets, murder, and unexpected twists12. Imagine the snow-covered landscape, the creaking floorboards, and the eerie atmosphere as Tricia and Ethan find themselves stranded in this mysterious place3. Feel free to ask if you’d like more details or have any other requests!


    Certainly! The theme of “Never Lie” by Freida McFadden revolves around deception and betrayal. Tricia, the protagonist, initially appears as a vulnerable victim seeking solace after a traumatic experience. However, her dark past as a murderer gradually unravels, revealing layers of deceit and hidden truths. The novel masterfully explores these themes, making it a thrilling and unputdownable read1. Feel free to ask if you’d like more details or have any other requests!


    In the conclusion of “Never Lie” by Freida McFadden, Tricia confronts Ethan about his mother’s death. Ethan admits to killing her for the money. In turn, Tricia confesses to her own homicides. Together, they decide to face the consequences and figure things out. They end up killing Luke, burying both Luke and EJ’s bodies, and ultimately buy the house, starting a family together12. The novel masterfully weaves between Tricia’s present-day perspective, Adrienne’s flashbacks from the past, and clips from Adrienne’s therapy tapes. Quite the suspenseful ending! 

    Read More ebooks

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *